“After 16 years of being the mecca of underground hip hop, Fat Beats closed its last remaining stores in New York and LA. I have a lot of history with the company, since my first record label Audio Research was distributed through them. So it was an honor to be invited to perform on the last day of a week of in-stores, last Saturday, alongside many greats like DJ Premier, Just Blaze and DJ Scratch. I did a full set of routines, I think it was about 17 minutes long! That’s like 3 DMC’s, yo. Peter Rosenberg captured some highlights, peep the video… and Fat Beats, I tip my fedora to thee.” –  DJ ATRAK via his site


In April 1994 Colomubia records released one of thee most influential albums of all time by Queens,New York native Nasir “Nas” Jones……. Illmatic.

Nas’ debut album featured production from Large Professor, Dj Premier, Pete Rock, Q-Tip, & childhood friend L.E.S. I always catch myself looking back at old footage/interviews of artist, a frequent one I watch is Illamatic’s EPK. To see hip-hop royalty all in the same room discussing a project like that is something that is a rarity nowadays.

Bigs up to MissInfo for giving Illmatic the 5Mic rating in The Source magazine April ’94 issue when she used to write for the source under the alias “Shortie”.

01 DJ Premier & Biggest G – Time 4 Change
02 Nygz – Policy
03 Big Shug – When I Strike
04 House Of Reps – U Gotta Love Us
05 Termanology – Hold That
06 Blaq Poet – Ain’t Nuttin Changed
07 Prodigy – Veterans Memorial Pt. 2
08 Statik Selektah Ft. MOP, Jadakiss – For The City
09 Young Maylay – I Showed You
10 D-Flow (DITC) – Like Dat
11 Scarface – Emeritus
12 Jake One Ft. Little Brother – Bless The Child
13 Ludacris Ft. Floyd Mayweather – Undisputed
14 LL Cool J – Dear Hip Hop
15 DJ Revolution Ft. Planet Asia – School
16 Bumpy Knuckles – The OG Pt. 3
17 Royce Tha 5′9″ – I Gotta Shake This
18 DJ Revolution Ft. KRS-One, DJ Premier – The DJ
19 Black Milk Ft. Pharoahe Monch, DJ Premier, SeanPrice – The Matrix

Download Link

Crooklyn Dodgers

October 3, 2008

They appeared in three separate incarnations since 1994. The first two incarnations recorded for the soundtrack for Spike Lee films, Crooklyn and Clockers, respectively. The theme connecting The Crooklyn Dodgers songs, aside from the Spike Lee films which they were made for, is the topic matter, which tends to comment on the state of affairs in and around urban New York, as well as other issues affecting everyday life; as Jeru spouses “Chips that power nuclear bombs power my sage”.

Version 1-Crooklyn

The first group was composed of Buckshot, Master Ace, and Special Ed. Their one and only record was “Crooklyn,” produced by A Tribe Called Quest, and featured in the 1994 film Crooklyn. This song is a good example of mid – 1990s Hip Hop. It contains srcatch samples from “Who Got Da Props?” by Black Moon and “The Place Where We Dwell” by Gangstarr. It also features samples of a radio broadcast of a Brooklyn Dodgers game. The music video featured appearances by Brooklyn-born athletes Michael Jordan and Mike Tyson.


Version 2-Return of the Crooklyn Dodgers

The second group was composed of Chubb Rock, Jeru the Damaja, and O.C. Their one and only record was “Return of the Crooklyn Dodgers,” produced by Dj Premier, and featured in the 1995 film Clockers. This incarnation was credited as Crooklyn Dodgers ’95.


Version 3-Brooklyn In My Mind

The third group consisted of Jean Grea, Mos Def and Memphis Bleek, North Carolina producer 9th Wonder resurrected the group concept in 2007 for a track on his album The Dream Merchant Vol. 2, titled “Brooklyn in My Mind”.